top of page

Blog Post #3 - 2/26/19

Updated: Mar 6, 2019

In college I plan to major in Animation/Digital Media, although some of the schools I applied to have Film as the major with an animation emphasis. I want to major in Animation because I feel that animation is a medium in which to elevate discussions and ideas about humanity and our general existence, and make light of it through comedy. I constantly overthink things, and I am always questioning why we do certain things, what makes us tick as humans. What compels us to do the things we do, we all are prone to being individually unique and weird in our own way. People strive to hug the curb of normality, others wish to deviate, there must be a method to our madness. I am very interested in people, and these characters I create are always based off of reality, but exaggerated. Animation has always entertained me because I was able to learn something about myself through these characters that looked nothing like me. It intrigued me that I was able to learn lessons about life, fairness, unfairness, all within the containment of a joke, portrayed by something that was appealing to the eye. I have always dreamed of having a show of my own, teaching kids the things I wish I knew, or had the privilege to learn, through cartoons. This is what I hope to be doing in the future, is working some place within the animation industry, because I feel that in a way I was raised by animation. It shaped me into the necessary amount of weird that I am today.


RICHARD WILLIAMS: Richard Williams was/is much of everything to do with the production of animated films. He has worked as a an Animator, Teacher, Film Director, Illustrator, Film Producer, Screenwriter, Voice Actor, Animation Director, and Television Producer and Director. He has a wide scope of experience in the animation world, and has even written a book "The Animator's Survival Kit" which is widely known and treasured by animators. He went to the Ontario College of Art, having lived in Canada. He credits animator "Bob Godfrey with giving him his start in the business, 'Bob Godfrey helped me...I worked in the basement and would do work in kind, and he would let me use the camera...[it was] a barter system'". His career was boosted when he worked on "The Little Island". Williams is described as being "[h]elpful, hot-headed, hard-headed, determined, supportive". I chose to research Richard Williams because he is one of the most well known animator, and has taught young animators and inspired many with his work. Some parts of his career didn't work out, he started the production for animated films and they didn't always come to fruition.

Article: https://animationresources.org/biography-richard-williams/

RICHARD WILLIAMS- GUARDIAN

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page